Chapter 2: What are the biggest rugby union events?

There are rugby union events throughout the year for bettors to enjoy. This includes both club and country competitions.

The 6 Nations

The Six Nations is arguably the largest annual rugby union event there is. It is an annual competition featuring 6 countries: England, Ireland, Italy, Wales, Scotland, and France.

The tournament was initially called the ‘Home Nations Championship’ as it featured only the 4 countries within the United Kingdom, however they expanded to add both Italy and France.

Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is a rugby union tournament that takes place every 4 years. It was initially launched in 1987 and was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. 16 teams compete to take home the Webb Ellis Cup, however only New Zealand, South Africa, Australia and England have managed victories.

Drop goals award teams 3 points. Penalties awarded because of foul play result in a kick at goal for 3 points. This is one of the more common ways of scoring at the elite level.

Champions Cup

Similarly to the Six Nations, the Champions Cup is an annual rugby union event. The competition is for the clubs of countries whose national teams featured in the Six Nations Championship. The Champions Cup is often regarded as a top tier rugby union club competition.

Challenge Cup

Another annual rugby union event. Similar to the Champions Cup, however it is often considered a second-tier event, behind the Champions Cup.    

Read Chapter 3

Now that you understand the key events of rugby union, take a look at what you should do before you begin.

Notice: Undefined index: src in /home/bettormi/public_html/wp-content/plugins/elementor/core/page-assets/loader.php on line 86

Notice: Undefined index: dependencies in /home/bettormi/public_html/wp-content/plugins/elementor/core/page-assets/loader.php on line 86

Notice: Undefined index: version in /home/bettormi/public_html/wp-content/plugins/elementor/core/page-assets/loader.php on line 86